We provide fun, challenge and adventure to young people across the North East of Birmingham

Log in


All sections of the Scout Association are open to both boys and girls of every background, race and religion. Full details of the Scout Association’s equal opportunities policy is available in the key policies document.

The sections are divided up by age (the core age ranges are shown below) though there is some flexibility as to the exact age at which young people move on to the next section – full details are available within the relevant section pages.

Beavers (aged 6 to 8)

Beaver Scouts are young people usually aged between six and eight years old. They belong to the first and youngest Section in the Scouting family. Young people can join Beaver Scouts in the three months leading up to their sixth birthday. They can move to the next Section, Cub Scouts, between seven years and six months and eight years six months.

Cubs (aged 8 to 10½)

Cub Scouts are aged between 8 and 10 years old and are the second section in the Scouting Family. There are loads of fun things that you can do as a Cub Scout. You will get a chance to try lots of different activities like swimming, music, exploring, computing and collecting. If you do them properly you will get a badge which you can wear on your uniform. Cub Scouts also get to go on trips and days out, to places like the zoo, theme parks or a farm. Sometimes you will be able to go camping with the rest of your Pack. This will mean you sleeping in a tent and doing loads of outdoor activities.

Scouts (aged 10½ to 14)

Scouts are the third section of the Scouting movement. From the first experimental camp for 20 boys in 1907, the movement now has an estimated 28 million members worldwide, and in the UK alone there are over 499,000 boys and girls involved in Scouting. An increase in adult volunteers means that more and more young people are now able to take part in their own big adventure.

Explorer Scouts (aged 14 to 18)

Explorer Scouts are aged between 14 and 18. Explorer Scout Units are part of the District rather than the Group, though many maintain close links with a particular Group. As an Explorer Scout, you will be able to decide, along with the rest of the Unit, what you want to do. You will be able to gain badges such as the Chief Scout’s Diamond and Platinum Awards. The highest award you can earn is the Queen’s Scout Award. This is recognised by many employers as the sign of someone that is enthusiastic, dedicated and reliable. We have five Explorer Scout Units in the District.

Network (aged 18 to 25)

Scout Network is the fifth and final youth section. Network members are part of the County, though they may have close links with a particular District or Group. As a Scout Network Member you get to take part in all the usual adventurous Scouting activities as well as working on projects helping to support you local community. You can also, if you choose, get more closely involved in working with the younger Sections.